www.quickim.com Forum Index www.quickim.com
QuickIM Message Board
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Problem with quickIM

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.quickim.com Forum Index -> Technical Questions and Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
webpower



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue May 23, 2006 10:40 pm    Post subject: Problem with quickIM Reply with quote

HI, I've tried quickIM 1.2 and 2.2 but when I use quickIM 1.2: in "server settings" i watched 3 servers:
Dispatch server address: messenger.hotmail.com
Authentication server address: nexus.passport.com/rdr/pprdr.asp
Use login server proxy
Login server proxy address: proxy.quickim.com/login
and if I disable "Use login server proxy" I can't login

when i tried quickIM 2.2 the settings are different:
Dispatch server address: messenger.hotmail.com
Dispatch server port: 1863
Use proxy HTTP:
NO
USE DEFAULT
USE PRIVATE
Personal Proxy HTTP Address:
Use socket proxy?
NO
USE DEFAULT
USE PRIVATE
Address sock proxy:
Port sock proxy:

both version of wickIM (1.2 and 2.2) works in the same way?
why in 2.2 version there aren't settings: nexus.passport.com/rdr/pprdr.asp
and proxy.quickim.com/login ?

help me. thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techsupport



Joined: 14 Apr 2005
Posts: 631

PostPosted: Thu May 25, 2006 10:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in 2.x versions, default proxy values are hardcoded to avoid errors
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
webpower



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

which default proxy in version 2?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techsupport



Joined: 14 Apr 2005
Posts: 631

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

in 2.2 both

nexus.passport.com/rdr/pprdr.asp
and proxy.quickim.com/login

are now default values as this provides the most reliable sign in experience for most devices. You cannot configure them any more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
webpower



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Fri May 26, 2006 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

proxy.quickim.com/login
what is this?
why is used a proxy?
I wont to establish a direct connection to msn server, without proxy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techsupport



Joined: 14 Apr 2005
Posts: 631

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 9:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

all the messages are sent directly to MSN, only the login uses an external API (in order to provide more reliable login experience on less powerful devices, to make space and replace corresponding code with new features because midlet size is a critical factor for java applications)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
webpower



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

In version 1.2 there is the option "Use login server proxy" and I can enable and disable. But If I disable it. I can't login. I'm trying to understand why.

Another question:
messenger.hotmail.com Is for both dispatch and authentication server.
and
nexus.passport.com/rdr/pprdr.asp I wont to know what does it need
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
techsupport



Joined: 14 Apr 2005
Posts: 631

PostPosted: Sat May 27, 2006 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

you should use those default values and not change them. nexus.passport.com/rdr/pprdr.asp is used for Passport authentication. In your case if it does not work when you don't use login proxy, it's probably because your mobile carrier is blocking some network ports including the one used for login. This is why we provided proxy for some services.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
webpower



Joined: 23 May 2006
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sun May 28, 2006 9:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, but in version 2.2 there are 3 options for proxy: no, use default, and use private. the default setting is: no. but I can connect well. why in version 1.2 when I disable proxy, doesn't login?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bhgoh



Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 5
Location: Singapore

PostPosted: Mon May 29, 2006 12:17 pm    Post subject: intermittent log in success Reply with quote

Singapore has GPRS penetrating every corner of the street, but the chances of me getting QuickIM connected on my BB71290 (with ver 4 OS) are only 20%. Few error scenarios have been encountered:

1) Network & Connection error after about 20~30 secs.
2) Successful connection to `Presence Server' (shown on phone) but have login failure.
3) Successful network & login, but during downloading of contacts, it gets disconnected and connection error pops up again.

Once connected, it can be very stable running in the background. But if there is an incoming phone call, it may disconnect QuickIM, and then the above scenarios may repeat. To get it connected, I have to go to the settings and just click the SAVE button without changing the entries, as if I am resetting the settings.

It would appear to me that BB is trying to block out 3rd party program which they dont support, because Yahoo IM gets connected immediately, unlike QuickIM which takes about a minute in total.
_________________
BB7290
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
techsupport



Joined: 14 Apr 2005
Posts: 631

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

please download the new release (2.5) from
http://www.quickim.com/products/mobile-phones/blackberry/buy.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
soggybiscuit



Joined: 07 Sep 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 3:52 pm    Post subject: Cannot connect at all Reply with quote

Hi
I have tried just about every setting I can to get QuickIM working on my Tungsten T5. The web is connected fine using bluetooth to my cell phone.
The app just crashes the T5 completely or hangs at the first blue dot.
I have tried all settings from proxy server to http with or without default gateway etc.
Nothing.
Can anyone help please?
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.quickim.com Forum Index -> Technical Questions and Support All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group